PlayStation to show new game in May 9 video stream

Will also include a look at MediEvil, plus “other updates and announcements”

Sony Interactive Entertainment will offer a “first look” at a new PlayStation game on May 9, in its latest State of Play video stream.

The 10-minute episode will stream on PlayStation’s social channels on Thursday, May 9 at 3pm Pacific Time (11pm UK).

Read our E3 2019 dates schedule for every conference and live stream date.

The video will also offer an extended look at MediEvil and “other updates and announcements from upcoming PS4 games”.

SIE noted that fans should not expect “any updates relating to our next-generation plans”.

The air date coincides with an Ubisoft marketing teaser site, which promises some kind of reveal on May 9 at 11:30am Pacific Time (7:30pm UK) [UPDATE: Ubisoft has since confirmed that this reveal is related to Ghost Recon]

State of Play is the new video programme PlayStation is planning to use throughout the year for “updates and announcements”. The company won’t have a presence at the E3 2019 expo in June.

Nintendo’s Nintendo Direct series kickstarted the video streaming vehicle for platform announcements in 2011, with Xbox following with its Inside Xbox series in 2018.

In the first State of Play episode, Sony announced several games for PlayStation VR and premiered trailers for Mortal Kombat 11, Concrete Genie and Days Gone.