Nintendo announces Mario Maker 2 Direct for May 15

15-minute presentation dedicated to level building sequel

Nintendo has announced a new Nintendo Direct live stream dedicated to Super Mario Maker 2.

The roughly 15-minute presentation will take place on Wednesday, May 15 at 3 p.m. PT / 6 p.m. ET / 11pm BST.

Super Mario Maker 2 has a release date of Friday June 28. The level building sequel features new tools, items and features players can use to create their own Super Mario courses.

These can be shared with other players online, creating a massive library of user-created levels.

“With an incredibly intuitive toolset ready to be explored and experimented with, including the new ability to create slopes for the first time, nearly anything is possible in Super Mario Maker 2,” said Nintendo.

The original Super Mario Maker released in September 2015 on Wii U. Nintendo said in May 2016 that over 7.2 million user-created courses had been played more than 600 million times.

The game sold some four million copies, making it the seventh-highest selling title for Nintendo’s last-gen console.

In some regions, Nintendo is offering an official Switch stylus as a pre-order bonus. It can be used to sketch courses when playing the game in handheld mode.

A Super Mario Maker 2 Limited Edition will include a copy of the game and a 12-month Nintendo Switch Online membership.