Microsoft dates Xbox E3 2019 briefing

New consoles tipped to be revealed during live event on Sunday June 9

Microsoft has confirmed that its annual Xbox E3 briefing will be held on Sunday June 9.

The event will begin at 1pm PT / 4pm ET / 9pm UK / 10pm CEST and be livestreamed on various platforms.

While the briefing will include the usual mix of Xbox software and service updates, this year’s event is highly anticipated as Microsoft is being tipped to reveal the new console hardware it first confirmed at E3 2018.

The platform holder is thought to be working on two next-gen Xbox consoles, codenamed Lockhart and Anaconda, which could be unveiled at E3 2019 ahead of planned holiday 2020 launches.

Microsoft is also expected to provide further details about its upcoming game streaming service Project xCloud, ahead of the launch of public trials later this year.

While Microsoft has big plans for the event, and Nintendo could also unveil new Nintendo Switch hardware models during the show, Sony won’t be attending for the first time in E3’s 24-year history.

Earlier this week, Sony provided the first official PS5 hardware details. Lead system architect Mark Cerny confirmed that the next-gen system will be disc-based, include an internal SSD and support 8K graphics.

PS5 will also be compatible with PS VR and backwards compatible with PS4 games.