Gamescom to open with Geoff Keighley live event

Organiser promises announcements, gameplay reveals and more

Gamescom 2019 will launch with a new livestreamed event produced by Geoff Keighley and Kimmie H. Kim, executive producers of annual industry show The Game Awards.

Titled Gamescom: Opening Night Live, it’ll air on Monday August 19 at 7pm UK / 8pm CEST / 2pm EDT / 11am PDT, ahead of the trade fair running from August 20 to August 24 in Cologne, Germany.

According to Gamescom organiser Koelnmesse, Opening Night Live will feature “announcements from major game publishers and independent developers, world premieres of new game footage and special guest appearances from the stars of the gaming industry”. An audience of over 1,000 people will be in attendance.

Koelnmesse president and CEO Gerald Böse said: “In addition to more than 370,000 visitors in Cologne, Gamescom is seen around the world by millions of fans through live streams.

“With this new Opening Night Live, we are continuing to create a unique platform for the games industry to present its announcements to fans both in Cologne and all around the world.”

Keighley said: “The team and I are thrilled to be in Europe this summer to produce this show and share Gamescom with the global video game audience.”

According to a press release announcing Opening Night Live, The Game Awards was seen by more than 30 million online viewers in 2018.